People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People often say that reading books is an ideal way to achieve linguistic proficiency and better imagination. However, I completely disagree with this and believe that watching television is more significant for the development of these aspects.

In terms of language skills, when watching television, people not only hear the sounds spoken by different characters in the movies but also could easily imitate the voice of them. For example, children nowadays prefer watching Disney Channel, which provides many foreign movies mostly spoken by American. If children have a habit of watching channel just like that, they will have better pronunciation and a keen understanding of foreign languages. Furthermore, this also benefits people by reducing the likelihood of making mistakes in daily speaking because when hearing foreigners talk, they could recognize their mistakes and avoid making them in the future.

Apart from the influence of television on the development of language proficiency, this also has a positive effect on the imagination of people, especially to a child. Most movies today are designed with special effects, high-quality sounds, and computer animation, enabling children to experience eye-catching scenes. The more these qualities children exposure, the more nurtured their imagination will be because they could imagine their own stories, which might be similar to what they once encountered on the screen. In contrast, books often provide people millions of words, which are used to describe characters or scenes, and do not show people a clear picture of what they are experiencing.

In conclusion, while some people say that the option of reading books rather than choosing to watch television is of vital importance, I, however, would argue that television has a better influence on people in terms of language skills and imagination.