People who read for pleasure have better imagination and language skills than those who prefer watching T.V. To what extent do you agree?

It is a common belief that having good reading ability helps to increase our thinking and language skills rather than watching T.V. Although, I agree that the reading skills prove to be fruitful for cognitive skills. I reckon that technology also plays a tremendous role to build our thoughts in a precise way.

On the one hand, reading a book is pivotal for the development of our creative minds because we are able to learn plenty of technical ideas as well as moral values and try to express these things in our practical life to become more successful. Many people believe that it is a fun and thrill to read different kinds of books and get diverse knowledge from it. Furthermore, it becomes a building block in the enhancement of our mental abilities. Also, it is very easy to understand variety of languages as many writers and linguistics convey their meanings in a simple way which is easily understand by individuals. They used the pronunciations and phrases in their contents that everyone can get the command in its particular language.

On the other hand, modern technology has contributed a significant part in our personal growth as nowadays many individuals spend their leisure time on watching television and surfing on the internet to keep themselves update about the current situation. Moreover, they can get to know about different culture and tradition. It is also very difficult to get expertise in a language without listening and speaking skills and it is only possible by watching the television. For example, according to many professional ielts trainer, BBC is the one of the best source which favors the students to achieve good bands in listening, speaking and reading skills.

To recapitulate, I agree that people embrace a lot of skills from books but at the same time, television also improves our positive imaginations and communication abilities but we also must select appropriate programs and watch them proportionally.