The personal information of many individuals is held by large companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided on whether the advantages of sharing the individual's personal data with big corporations outweigh the disadvantages. I believe that the risks of safety and creating artificial needs are too serious to justify possible benefits.

The advantages associated with exchanging personal information are better user experience and increases marketing. With regard to the former, companies save user's personal information through various means. The most important of which is the internet, which saves the data in the form of cookies whenever an individual surfs something there. Organizations analyze this data and provide users with amazing features like auto-populating the details while filling up an online form and the other is that an individual can order anything with a single click from the comfort of their own homes. As far as marketing is concerned, companies create products and improve services on the basis of the information shared by the consumers. The best examples of this can be seen in testimonials, where users provide their valuable feedback about any goods they purchased. Not only would this increases marketing, but it could help to create more robust products.

The above-mentioned advantages have been achieved at the cost of loss of privacy and creating artificial needs. The loss of privacy is a major worry. Although people imagine that they can access the internet anonymously, this is not the case. The truth is that everything that people do is recorded and stored indefinitely on corporate databases, which helps cybercriminals to hack the individual's information and perform online scams. On the other hand, based on user's interests companies promotes their latest products by means of various communication, such as by sending mails and by audio or video messages. By doing so, such organizations create unnecessary demand for the products, and consumers keep on squandering their hard-earned money on such things.

In conclusion, although there are many advantages of sharing personal information, the drawbacks related to loss of privacy and creating artificial needs can not be ignored. For this reason, I believe that the disadvantages are too severe to justify the advantages.