Personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology and the Internet have been changed our life into new situation. People work, play, and communicate differently in comparison to their descendants. These changes lead to increasing the Internet usage and big companies started to monitor our online life and gather information for different purposes. This behavior has some advantages and disadvantages that I will discuss now and explain my opinion that which one outweighs the other.

We can feel the various benefits of gathering information in our everyday life. When we want to shop online, the website can sort the goods according to our previous shopping behaviors. It can show some materials that we may look for them. Another advantage is that we can use of other’s information indirectly. As an example, a routing application can illustrate traffic congestion by receiving signal from other drivers and show better route to avoid traffic jam.

On the other hand, some enumerate the disadvantages of gathering information. The most important disadvantage, I reckon, is mental problem. Some people may presume that they are monitored every second and they do not have any privacy. For example, when one opens a website and see an advertisement completely related to his or her needs, thus, he or she may feel uncomfortable. Another issue is abuse of gathered information for unpeaceful purposes. For example, Facebook, one of the biggest online social media, was sentenced for selling the gathered information from users to advertising companies which completely embarrassed its users.

In my point of view, any new technology have cons and pros. Experts and parliaments should try t lessen its disadvantages. I believe the advantages of gathering information by companies are more outweigh that its disadvantages and government could introduce some laws to limit these disadvantages.

To sum up, the Internet provides many benefits for us and some may abuse of it. However, the advantages of the Internet are more significant than disadvantages and government could limit them. I think, although we could not ignore some treats and disadvantages of gathering online information by the Internet companies, we face several benefits from that.