Personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

To keep abreast of the times, majority of giant internet cooperation and organizations has utilized individuals' private data these days. This issue is fraught with controversy, with the concern being expressed over the deleterious or even harmless implications of it. Yet to the best of my knowledge, this attempt does more harm than good and my reasons will be exclusively elucidated in this essay.

On the one hand, it should be first noted that if companies access the personal data of their users, not only can the better services be catered for consumers, but the corporations also can reap their benefits, especially monetary ones. Substantially, as long as individuals' information is accessible for companies, such as Facebook, their interests and behaviors are tracked and consequently, allow advertisers to target their audiences by sending ads to them and then pay pecuniary profits to the mentioned companies. Besides, several platforms, like Google map, are salient examples that make life more convenient without obvious destructive effects or pernicious intents.

Having said that, despite its possibly fruitful outcomes, there are negativities in this regard. Firstly, the possibility of fraud will increase if the amount of disseminated data boosts. Indeed, the more people register in such companies, the higher rate of defrauding and cyber-crimes such as cyber-bullying can be observed. Furthermore, having been spread the leaked documents of people's identities and details, individuals might have no clue why police approach them since they are the victim of hackers who implements their information for criminal purposes, or on a smaller scale, withdraw their bank accounts. Moreover, although a large number of companies make their utmost endeavor to build a strong firewall, hackers progress, break this and subsequently establish personal images, videos, messages, to mention a few, leading to disgrace and scandal, particularly for females.

In conclusion, concerning what ratiocinated above, I am deeply of the opinion that in spite of facilitating peoples' lives and making profits for companies, the Internet-based corporations holding private data are susceptible to be hacked and immense volume of users' din formation can be employed for delinquent aims, tremendously impacting people's lives.