At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Population aging has been always one of the crucial factors affecting the economic development of a nation. For some countries with a higher number of young adults than that of senior citizens, people doubt about whether or not the overwhelming of young population can bring about more merits than demerits. In my viewpoint, I strongly believe that the benefits of this phenomenon exceed its handicaps.

Firstly, countries having young population generally witness the fast economic growth. This is partly because youngsters are likely to quickly learn and master the latest technological advances in any particular field and then apply the new knowledge to reality while working or studying. This, eventually, promotes the progression of each field in an economy, thereby stimulating the economic growth. Furthermore, good health is also an advantage of young people in the working age group. With good health, those people can work in a long period of time with high productivity and this is able to contribute the development of economy as a whole.

Notwithstanding the benefits, skeptics of the overwhelming benefits of this situation argue that the lack of experience and specialized skills of young people in the working age group can decrease effectiveness of any work they involve. Nevertheless, these skeptics may forget that young workers are fast learners, they have the capability of quickly mastering new knowledge in a short period of time and this capability can offset those shortcomings. In addition, the young are also very flexible and can easily adapt to new changes in the global society and economy.

For the forgoing discussions, it is clear that countries having a higher number of young adults that that of senior citizens can enjoy many advantages that promote the economic development.