Prison is the most common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that most countries deal with the problem of crime by using prison. While I believe that prison is an important factor to prevent criminal activities, I argue that education has more positive effect.

On the other hand, there are two main reasons why prison is one of common way to solve crime rates. Firstly, prison act as a deterrent against criminals. When criminals are imprisoned, they would be separate from their families and friends, which means losing freedom and living a miserable life in cells. Therefore, those who are having the intention of breaking the law would reconsider their criminal activities, since they are aware of the consequences of their unlawful actions. The imprisonment could prevent dangerous criminals such as murders, terrorist and bank robbers from affecting negatively the safety of other citizens.

On the other hand, I believe that the government should create a better education, which would help to deter crime. The countries should organize vocational programs for citizens. After training courses, they would get qualifications and have more job opportunities. As a result, the government will secure people’s quality of life and prevent people from having any ideas of breaking the law. For example, if the standard of living increase and people have enough financial ability, they will not have law breaker activities such as robber and shoplifter. Furthermore, education helps to rise public awareness of the law. Schools teach students about the laws and the punishment of breaking the law, so they will have the knowledge of the laws and rarely commit a crime.

In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that prison is important for preventing and control crimes, I think that education also contributes to solve the problem of crime.