By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

Crime, a term which in itself comprises many immoral and unethical things, which are not the requirement for any society. Death penalty, however, is considered as the harsh level of punishment for the people, who cross all the limits of humanity, which in turn deem as a bolt on humankind. Some, furthermore, believe that society is guilty of committing murder, hence life in prison is better alternative. Therefore, I partially accord with this statement.

To begin with, the death penalty is a justifiable punishment for those criminal who do brutal crime regardless of considering any value or humanity due to plethora reasons. Firstly, when any criminal or perpetrator raises a threat on national security and tries to disturb the sovereignty, then death penalty is a major tool for such crime. Secondly, the death penalty is a lesson for those who take the law very lightly and are in propensity to break laws irrespective of respecting it. Thirdly, sometimes fear is necessary to ensure reduction in crime rate, here death penalty is proved to be more viable in inducing a sense of frighten in culprits. For instance, It has been commonly found that many terrorists surrender themselves owing to fear of death penalty.

On the contrary, every condition has both positive and negative aspects, which is similar in this case. Death penalty, sometimes, deem as a harsh method of punishment for criminals on account of various reasons. Firstly, nobody wants to become a criminal, rather circumstances compel someone to become criminal, correspondingly, there should be given an another chance to everyone in the form of life imprisonment. Secondly, life imprisonment helps someone to lead a better and civilized life by giving proper counselling to them. Thirdly, the end of one life means the loss of many lives, which in turn indicates that death penalty for someone is just like bringing entire family under several crises, as a result all hopes for family disappear. Thus, life imprisonment seems noticeable alternative.

In conclusion, I opine that nobody wants to become a criminal, but circumstances are responsible for that, therefore everyone has right to have a second chance to live a great life ahead.