By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The issue whether the murderers should be punished with death penalty or not is a controversial one. Many people support the death penalty as a capital punishment and think that this is a vital way to set up peace and law in the world but there are lots of opinions against it. I support the death penalty for murderers if it's really necessary for prevailing peace but if there is any alternative way to give the criminals a chance to remorse and lead a civilised life again, and then they should be given it.

In today's society, life is very violent and if we read the newspapers and watch the news on TV, we find lots of murders and other crime news almost daily. There are many mentally ill people who are committing crimes and almost nothing will stop them. These types of psychopathic murders commit murders even sometimes for personal pleasure. We have interviewed captured criminals who say, "I was going to kill him, but I knew that I could get the death penalty if I did. So I just left him there." Obviously, having the death penalty saves lives and that makes a positive difference to society. The death penalty is also useful to send the message to rest of the people who no matter who you are if you commit a murder you are going to be hanged till death or going to sit in an electric chair. This fear is helpful to cut the homicide in many countries. If a criminal murders someone and then gets the death penalty, that isn't society's fault. Everyone knows about the death penalty as a punishment for murder. So, the person who murders is really killing himself at the same time he is killing his victim. The murderer has made the choice to die. It is important to remember that the death penalty is used only for people who have committed very serious crimes. For example, a woman shot a police officer when she was trying to escape from jail. She was already a convicted criminal when she committed murder, and she deserves the death penalty.

In many countries, crimes become so severe that the law enforcers can't control the situation and capital punishment becomes a part of the law practice but there are many cases where a man/woman kills another one to protect him or herself. It's not uncommon when a girl kills a rapist to save her dignity and before pronouncing the death penalty the reason must be considered. Even if a single innocent person gets the death penalty that will make the judicial system questionable.

People need to accept responsibility for their actions. Punishing murderers with the death penalty is one way that society can help people to realise the consequences of their decisions.