Q16 In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of the age gap between parents and children has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to giving birth to babies at an early age, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having children as early in life as possible exerts a positive influence on families do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that younger parents are more likely to participate in leisure activities with their children, such as football and online games, making it possible for them to build strong relationships with one another. In addition, young people raising their offspring are easily capable of empathising with their children as not only can they frequently communicate with their children, but they are generally also more open-minded than older parents who are more strict in general due to a larger generation gap.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of taking responsibility for becoming parents at a young age are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that a multitude of younger parents often have difficulty supporting their own living costs, preventing them from giving their children opportunities to receive better education that will be invaluable in their children's future careers. This is mainly because younger parents have not saved enough money since they have never worked for a long time. Another drawback is that the development of youngsters' behaviour can be negatively affected by young people looking after their offspring considering that younger parents who are generally less mature may be incapable of setting a good example to their children due to a lack of life experience, which can even lead children to become immature and selfish. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of a narrow age gap surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.