Raising household electricity fees is the most effective solution to the problems associated with power generation and environmental pollution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective in reducing the environmental pollution caused by power generation?

It is a common belief that increasing the cost of electricity usage for individuals’ houses is sufficient to confine environmental problems by producing electricity.

However, I firmly believe that It’s not the best choice in general and it can be rectified by utilizing renewable energy sources.

In reality, the consumption of electricity for residents only makes up a small part of the overall picture. Whereas, the usage of this power in industrial production has accounted for the highest one, this is also the main reason causing severe issues related with the environment. In fact, regarding the statistics in Viet Nam, the proportion of electricity power used in factories and industry stand at more than half of all energy use, whilst residential energy usage just only make up roughly 20 percent. Thus, the interference of household electricity bills would not be a great way to mitigate pollution.

Nevertheless, there are other solutions to the problem of pollution. One approach to cope with the environmental problems caused by electricity usage is by displacing marine renewable energy resources. Nowadays, besides the electricity we are also figuring out and implementing ocean energy with the same quality but not leading to pollution because it comes with abundant natural resources. For example, people have produced renewable energy from tide, wave, solar power .. and used in certain areas to alter electricity effectively. It seems to be an outstanding development in the power sector and not affected by environmental problems.

In short, I can see that raising the bills for an individual's electricity use is not enough contribution to tackle environmental issues, nonetheless, the matter can be resolved by increasing the use of renewable energy.