In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Nowadays, there have been major shifts within the structure of the families which affect their roles. In my opinion, these changes have brought about positive results.

Today, extended families have turned into nuclear ones as beginning couples, together with their children, decide to move out from the roof of their spouses’ parents. This is for them to assume greater responsibilities within the society. Moreover, individuals who are starting their own families desire to pursue greater opportunities outside due to the necessity of ensuring a higher quality of living condition. For instance, families are now migrating out of the country to move to Canada, the USA or Australia. To them, starting a new life in one of these nations provide substantial resources for their survival.

Furthermore, roles are now assumed by both parents as they now have the chance of subscribing to career opportunities to help them secure financial stability. Conversely, some of them are already assuming the roles of their partners when the need arises. Women empowerment have played a big role in this major change which is far different from the situation in the earlier days when female population are forbidden to do tasks which were intended for men. Now, the husband can take over the role of the wife in looking after their children and their needs while taking care of the entire household.

These advancements have been beneficial since they become more exposed to the constant demands of modernization. This helps them be adaptive to the different lifestyles and cultures which they have not encountered before. Moreover, these can promote awareness to the parents and their offspring as they become aware of the challenges as beginning families. It does not only provide them a secured future as an intact family, it can also help be imprinted in their children’s minds as they begin to acquire values formation which they can use when they begin a family of their own.

By and large, most nuclear families move out to look for bigger opportunities which affects their roles in the society. However, these effects connote positive outcomes as a unit.