In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is a colossal upsurge in the use of e-books as compared to the paper books. There are both merits and demerits associated with this soaring trend. Although, I am of opinion that the advantages outdo the disadvantages.

There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that in today's fast-paced world where everything is online, e-books allows one to read them at anytime and from anywhere without having to visit the library or carrying heavy printed books everywhere. This not only helps people to save money but also saves paper. Besides this, e-books have made reading and learning easy as we can even save bookmarks and highlight important points. All these benefits stand the use of e-books in good stead.

However, there are some pitfalls associated with this trend that can easily overwhelm the advantages. Firstly, e-books are available on electronic devices and continuous use of electronics gadgets adversely affects our eye-sight. Secondly, concentrating on paper books is far easier as compared to concentrating on e-books. Thirdly, e-books are not accessible if we do not have battery backup in our electronic devices like laptop or mobile phone. Also, some of the books are not available in the form of e-books, for example, historic books. Hence, it is apparent why many are not in favour of using e-books as an alternative to printed books.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some demerits, the benefits of using e-books are too great to ignore. In the future, the popularity of e-books is expected to increase.