In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits.

What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

It is commonly recognized that there is a positive relationship between individual development and social equality. Sometimes equal opportunities should be given to everyone in society otherwise some people’s rights would be oppressed. However, I disagree that people gain greater development in an egalitarian world because a society like that is unrealism and ineffective.

To begin with, I totally agree that people in some areas still need to strive for a more equal society. In some countries and places, residents, especially women and children, do not have access to education, workplace or medical system. Governments and international organizations have to build societies with more equality because people need to have those basic rights first, then thinking about personal development and life achievement. On the other hand, the completely equal world is unachievable due to the limited social resources and is not a Utopia due to low efficiency.

It is unfair and ineffective to offer everyone in society with equal opportunities regardless of different levels of their performance. People would become less motivated in this kind of world where they do not need to work hard for a better chance. If you can go to any university without an outstanding academic performance, why would you need to study at school and struggle to develop yourself? It is not rewarding any more to receive an education if anyone can have a decent job. So an extremely equal society is no good to people’s personal achievement and even might be a barrier for the development of the whole society.

In conclusion, we need equality to achieve personal goals, but it is not realism to have a fully equal world now and it could be bad for personal performance in that society. I believe limited opportunities are the motivation for people to struggle forward.