Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many researchers point out that the genetic factor affects greatly human psychology and mental development, while others argue that the external world is responsible for this. This essay will discuss both sides and also claims that what we have experienced through every walks of life have a profound impact on who we are going to be in the future.

When it comes to inherited characteristics, the child comes from the parents with superior genetic tends to be smarter, more dynamic and talented than other children. This is not an isolated incident when many findings have highlighted the same results. However, the children’s development also relies on a particular circumstance in which whether allow them to develop their strengths or not. Giving Chris Langan as an example, the man has the highest IQ in America, who couldn’t contribute any of his achievements to the nation because of poverty.

On the other hand, the traits we acquire from experiences and all the vicissitudes of life are constantly changing. It is the interaction of the people and the external events that shapes a person’s personality. For example, a scholar classmate sitting next to a kid should motivate him to strive to study than the bullied one. Furthermore, many people find themselves improving in every aspect of life after a long challenging journey.

In conclusion, while genetic characteristics play a vitally important role regarding human development, I shall hold the idea that the experiences we may have are the underlying factor decide the future of us.