Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education has been always the essential factor every country have concerned about regarding economic and living basis enhancement. To provide a functional adolescent, while some people might think of creating a competitive environment for children as an initiative, others facilitate children’s learning by a co-operative method when it come to academic preference.

First of all, kids who are compelled to compete with each others tend to gain the best result they could. In term of being an utilitarian person, it seems good to preceed. But in the long term, students are gravitated towards the final outcome instead of deeper learning. Eventually, students are unable to broaden their horizon but only thinking about defeating the others, getting good marks. Furthermore, a competitive environment might make student become stressful and end up being a cheater in an examination room.

On the other hand, children benefit from co-operative learning are more likely to become a helpful adolescent. Co-operative learning require some sort of recreational skills such as giving an opinion, against one, raising a compliment or summarizing a task and so on. For instance, instead of saying “That is a horrible idea, I disagree with you”, children should be taught to say” I see your point, however, I think we should..”. In addition, team-work facilitates the learning process of children, expands their abilities and ideas in a certain topic when everyone in the group have the right to talk and be accepted.

In conclusion, while a competitive attitude should be promoted in some circumstance, I should lean towards creating a co-operative learning culture for children in school, which is vital importance in term of becoming a funtional adults.