In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Civilization has seen significant changes over the last century. The workforce is required with practical skills and experiences have been always the first authority when applying for a job. It is quite common these days when some students tend to have a break of studying after graduating from high school, while others prefer to enroll in university continually.

First of all, some students might find it difficult to readapt to the academic environment since they had kept a year or more doing a job or traveling overseas. While wealthy students go abroad to gain experience, which sometimes can be unpredictable and even dangerous, poor students shall think of having a particular occupation as a permanent income instead of going to a university. In addition, no one can deny that stepping out of the comfort zone takes time to adapt, and for those are introvert can suffer from depression in the first place.

However, earning a living or traveling, especially long independent journey, expand the young generation’s ability to adapt the unexpected, and the unknown. Students expose themselves to the external world this way would embrace their inner resources, acquire valuable experience, which can not be found in an academic environment. Furthermore, students must face all the vissicitudes of life, including financial, relationship issues and living independently. In such circumstances, young adults can learn, adapt to it, or perhaps, overcome it.

In conclusion, while having an occupation or going overseas can be risky and costly, to be unbiased, the advantages they bring back are immense. I shall lean towards the idea that student should broaden their horizons to get a clear perspective of what they are hoping to do with their lives and why.