It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sport person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People are dynamic and diverse as everyone has their own interest and strength in a certain field. Giving examples in sport or music, some people believe that athlete or good musician success relate greatly to inherited science – talent, while others argue that skills can be trained.

When it comes to college preference, educators indicate that training has a strong influence on different skills. Many evidences can be found to prove that children are able to acquire a skill with continued training and guided practices.

On the other hand, it is noticeable that innate talent is what differentiates a person who is trained to play a sport or an instrument, with those who become a good player. There is more to the skill than a learned technique, and this extra talent cannot be taught, no matter how good the teacher is or how frequently the children practices.

I personally think that talents give individuals facility for a skill that allow a student to excel, while a hard-working student can never manage to reach a comparable level. But, as with all questions of nature and nurture, they are not mutually exclusive. Good musicians, artist, and exceptional sport stars have probably succeeded because of both good training and natural talent. Without natural talent, continuous training would be neither attractive nor productive, while without good training, the child would not learn how to exploit and develop their talent.

In conclusion, it is the learning process that helps children to acquire a particular skill, but to be really good in areas such as sport, art or music, then some natural talent is required.