Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the history of civilization, we have experienced a significant change in the race. If in the past, it was almost impossible for a woman to convey knowledge in higher institution, now she is able to enroll in various courses as their wish. Some argue that it should be an equivalent proportion of man and woman students in every discipline. This is a very controversial issue, however, I shall hold the opposite opinion.

Firstly, students are merited to choose the major in their interest, not only because they have rights to do so, but also people are likely to achieve higher academic performance when the subject is favored. Secondly, some areas of work and related study are only appropriate for a certain gender. For instance, the occupation of civil engineering seems to fit better for a man than a woman, due to high physical demand.

More importantly, universities should be based on talent and performance, not equal gender opportunity. Balancing between genders may strip away the chance of male and female candidates. A form of natural selection takes place: survival of the fittest. This would encourage all students to strive to meet a place. To remain the ratio of both genders equally, the need for purchasing larger budgets should be conferred either.

In conclusion, I hold the idea that the admission process should not relied on the number of man and woman students. It is essential to stress on the grades or interests so this would be far more advantageous for all of us.