Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

After being penalized, many criminals are released to go back to their normal lives but they still keep committing crimes. There are some reasons that lead to this issue, and I believe that some appropriate solutions can effectively address this problem.

Despite the positive aspect of being set free and having the opportunity to contribute to the community in a legal way, there are some factors that make some ex-prisoners break the law again. First, they are less likely to be accepted by the community. For example, when they apply for a job, they are more likely to be refused because their criminal history. Thus, as a result of being unemployed, they may not have a better choice than to go back to their old way. Second, they may not be willing or are able to work as a normal person with a legal job as it probably does not earn them as much money and they have to work hard too. Therefore, they can easily be enticed back to illegal activities, which may appear more lucrative.

However, there are some solutions that governments can consider in dealing with this problem. First, creating suitable job opportunities can reduce the unemployment rate of released criminals. This can make them feel more accepted and can make it easier for them to integrate into society. Second, governments encourage those people to retrain and upskill to make it easier for them to find work. For example, they can learn to fix cars or electrical appliances make some hand-crafted products, which can help them to appreciate the true value of work and of earning money.

To sum up, some ex-criminals reoffend because of economic and social factors, but governments and society can address this issue with some practical measures such as providing job opportunities for ex-offenders and helping them to retrain.