Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To

Science and technology courses in universities can find their applications the daily life of people therefore, the job opportunities are visible. But, learning arts subjects has its own importance. I strongly disagree with the opinion not to teach arts subjects in universities and i will elucidate in the below paragraphs.

Any civilization can grow great when the people in the society is neutral and people excel in different fields. Unbiased culture can be cultivated in society provided that, the youngsters of the community remain unbiased. In this technically developed era, there are many career options in the field of field of science technology whereas, not much new opportunities are born for people in arts field. Some people end up unemployment though they have spent so much money on their education. Declining the arts education to students would end up in a biased society.

If we think from the point of view of a student, not only a good career, but also, satisfaction while doing the course is necessary. Since not all students are good in science, self satisfaction of student can be obtained only by having arts subjects in universities. There should be arts courses for the people who are interested in them. Such courses also transfer history, culture and tradition of the society to the new generations.

In conclusion, the opportunities for students in technical field has increased whereas, that for arts students career options are almost the same. But, this can not be reason for cancelling the arts subjects in universities, instead, the ratio between these can be changed.