Scientists and the news media are presenting ever more evidence of climate change. Governments cannot be expected to solve this problem. It is the responsibility of individuals to change their lifestyle to prevent further damage.

What are your views? Give reasons for your answer.

The environment problem, especially climate change such as global warming, has become more serious which pushes scientists start to urge governments to introduce measures to reduce the air pollution. Some environmentalists advocate individuals to change their lifestyle in order to protect environment. I tend to believe that the governments and individuals should take join responsibility for this problem.

First of all, no one can deny that environment will become better if everyone can try their best to protect nature. People could think more carefully about using electric, water resource and etc. in their home. Such as using less electricity or replacing traditional light bulbs to energy-efficient one. Moreover, people could choose go outside by riding bike instead of driving private car. And this can decrease the greenhouse gas emissions that are seem as its main cause. Although one person’s behavior may have little effect, but the more number of people join in, the less damage will environment have.

Secondly, government still can do lots of thing which may more effective on protecting nature. A truth is, industry accounts for a large proportion of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions. However, only government that has enough power to enact a law to restrict air pollution of those companies. Also, governments can discuss for climate change and ensure the solutions which many countries approve for. The government can give useful strategies to mitigate climate change, and without such co-operating, efforts to reduce fuel consumption are unlikely to be such effective.

In conclusion, I believe that only the government and the individual both try their best to protect environment and reduce the gas emissions can protect our earth.