Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, social media is one of the strongest, very famous and emerging networks in all set of people. Only this medium rapidly growing and getting popular from a toddler to old age group. At the same time posting personal data such as blogs and photos in social network causes many serious issues. This essay will discuss more about my views on how rewards and benefits of social media overshadows its own drawbacks.

Some people say social media is new hope for connecting people, instant messaging system, unlimited video calls and it is going on. I have witnessed the revolution of social network last year because of the recent thunderstorm and heavy rain. Almost the entire city floating in flood, most of the people got stuck in office premises and others not able to come out from their residence for two – three days. Using social applications, started sharing the locations and needs for rescue. In this case social network played important role, almost it has saved thousands of lives.

On the other hand, recent cases studies widely talked about the consequences of social network. Common reason for all the crimes is due to sharing the personal data in the unsecured platforms. Sharing, spreading false statements, uploading morphed audio and video to defame celebrities, politicians and public figures are on the major threats because of social network.

To conclude, everyone should know the importance of social media and need to use wisely. According to my view this is the powerful medium where we can use it in a right way to spread peace and positivity.