Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Instead of the conventional way of communication, these days, people tend to communicate with each other via social media like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. In my opinion, although there are some drawbacks of this phenomenon, it offers lots of benefits which can offset those disadvantages to a large extent.

Despite the drawbacks below, I believe that interacting through social networking sites has many beneficial impacts on our day-to-day life. Firstly, people, nowadays, are not feeling alone even though they stay far away from their friends and family. To illustrate, they can easily share their exact location, actual status and condition with their loved ones that bring lots of happiness and emotional tranquility. Secondly, social media acts as a great platform to spread the news, events as well as to raise the public awareness on different issues. For instance, simply by uploading the photos or video clips or even by a few texting, anyone can easily spread his/her thinking, wish or advice to his/her followers and for sure this development has an enormous impact on our social life.

Admittedly, there are some issues involved with online social connection. One problem is that traditional face-to-face contact might be declined which may impede the natural flow of social and moral behaviors of people. For example, some people tend to share the snaps of the road accident victims instead of helping them in the scene. Another negative aspect is that browsing social media continuously would jeopardize users' personal and social life as well as their mental health because of misinterpretation of available floating rumors and propaganda. However, these situations may be uncommon and only subjective.

To conclude, definitely social media has opened a new horizon of communication with lots of privileges which clearly outweigh any drawbacks it might bring.