Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is widely acknowledged that many of the radical/drastic changes in human society over the past century were initiated by technological advancements. However, the public remains divided on the effects that technology has on our lives, particularly where income disparity is concerned. Some people argue that the very innovations that we currently have at our disposal have actually widened the income gap. While there is some truth to this statement, I believe it is impossible to understate the wealth and opportunities that technology has given many people.

The endorsement/ advocacy of the notion that technology is to blame for the gaping wealth gap is largely justifiable. The key argument is that the phenomenal growth of the technology industry has made a small percentage of the population exponentially richer than the rest. For example, the past decade has seen what once were humble technology startups morph into massive multi-billion-dollar companies.The owners of these businesses have amassed great wealth and gone on to become social elites. This, however, seems to be something of a rarity for the majority of people.

On the other hand, I would contend that contemporary technological innovations are instrumental in mitigating inequalities of wealth. In fact, examples of how technologies empower and help lift people out of poverty can be seen around the world. For instance, Facebook has given many people an opportunity to start their own business at minimum costs, and a substantial number of of city dwellers now owe their livelihood to Grab's ride-railing network. These are powerful testaments to how technology has transformed lives and reduced the social inequity/ injustices that used to be much worse in the past.

In conclusion, while technology has indeed created a new generation of wealthy individuals, I am convinced that it has also given equal opportunities for all to thrive.