Some believe that people are naturally born as leaders while others feel that leadership skills can develop.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Views regarding the origin of leadership skills divide. It is argued to be innate by some but cultivated over a time span by others. These opposing views will be elaborated on in the following essay.

The inimitable capacity of command is considered a fixed quantity by a number of people. This may manifest in the form of a person’s unpolished charisma, attention-grabbing presence or natural eloquence. These traits can be observed in successful business leaders, such as Jack Ma or Oprah Winfrey. Also, it is evident that even after intense classes focusing on leadership skills, not all students can progress to be leaders in their organizations, as some are more apt for other specialized tasks. Forcing those without a natural affinity for leadership into managing positions is often the reason for mediocre or even damaging results in businesses.

The aforementioned view, however, is challenged by the notion that leading is often more deliberate than spontaneous. Some of the skills required of an effective leader include being able to project an achievable vision and assigning competent workers to suitable tasks, which could all be learnt and cultivated over time. A leader should also have the tenacity to push through turbulences, as seen in the example of Elon Musk, whose companies such as Tesla or SpaceX have gained immense success despite initial doubts and times of financial difficulties. Lastly, it is worth noting that even gifted leaders need to learn from their past mistakes to gain more valid leading strategies. Without such reflection and adaptation, outdated management practices could potentially result in the eventual dissolution of an organisation.

Considering both views, I believe that both innate talents and ongoing training are needed for the making of a great leader, as neither of the two elements alone is sufficient for a long-term success in managing.