Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently.Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach yo

Of widely-held concerns regarding modern family life, the question of whether the aged had better live with their relatives or separately gains a huge controversy. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, advocates might find evidence that extended family life supports all family members in terms of emotional aspects during such life events as times of crisis like a bereavement. Likewise, to some extent, personal insecurity might be reduced thanks to the prevention from various dangers, ranging from accidents to thieving/kidnapping. Last but not least, living in a multi-generational family could lighten the burden of living cost, for instance with lower food and utility expense, which brings more enjoyment of life.

Conversely, those who promote the idea that the senior family members should live an independent life claim that the more self-reliant the elderly people are, the more their self-esteem are boosted and the less mental decline they might suffer in their old age. They also highlight younger families’ difficulties in housing space or lack of available time, which prevent them from providing older member proper care. It is indeed true that many grandparents’ infrequent visits to grandchildren due to distance could generate more expectations which make their visits more important and memorable.

Overall, it seems to me that the argument that senior residents live in separate accommodations is more persuasive since this benefits them and their family both physically and mentally. Nonetheless, cautions relating to health and finance should be taken into account to avoid unexpected problems which might arise.