In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Over the last few years, one of the most alarming issue in both developed and developing countries is the considerable increase in population’s average weight. This essay will analyse some possible causes and carry out several measures to address the problem.

A prominent reason explaining why so many people are overweight is that they consume too much unhealthy food. The rapid development of fast food franchises and the continuously introduction of new processed products make us form a bad eating habit. Being exposed to a wide range of high-calorie, sugary and oily choices, will sooner or later, lead to the uncontrollable bodyweight. Therefore, to tackle this problem, creating a healthier way of living is a must. It is the best for people to cook on their own and adjust the nutritional needs, but if the heavy workload prevents us from doing so, make sure to choose meals wisely, with low-carb foods, lots of greens and a moderate portion of red meat.

Another culprit worth mentioning is our lack of physical activities. Working at the office or studying at school takes most of our day time, so people will less likely to spend the remaining hours taking up exercises. In addition, the sedentary lifestyles also contribute to the growing cases of obesity when a large percentage of the world population are turning to couch potatoes, preferring watching TV to working out. However, this issue could be addressed by running health campaigns to raise people’s awareness; for instance, advice on how to make balance meals, keep in shape or check medical symptoms was informed through a health promotion in Australian. The organizer also had a group of trainers instructing short exercises which were easy to follow and do on a daily basis. These activities not only promote public physical condition but also convene and focus world-wide attention on health deteriorations.

All in all, obesity is now an increasingly worrying issue that pulls our fitness down and raises more health matters. Hence, everyone should look after their own physical abilities, and more actions must be taken urgently, otherwise our societies will face even greater medical issues in the future.