Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is true that cars popularity in recent years has had detrimental impacts on traffic and the environment. While it is argued by some people that the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems is raising petrol’s price, I believe that other measures are more effective and should be taken into consideration.

Albeit higher cost could make people more aware of their fuel use, it does not mean that they would completely cut it off. Since petrol is one of life’s necessities, everyone would continue paying for it to meet their needs. Motorbikes and cars would not be bought and then abandoned just because of the cost’s increase. In addition, the economy is really sensitive to swings around the world, which could lead to the unreasonably high price of commodities. This might result in a decline in national and international trade or recessions in many countries.

Taking all the above reasons into account, some better measures could be carried out to crack those alarming problems of traffic and environment. The first solution is taking advantage of renewable energies such as solar, wind, or water to step-by-step ratchet down exhaust emissions. For instance, well-known automotive manufacturers like Tesla or BMW have introduced some car models powered by electricity and received rave reviews from both authorities and residents. Another promising strategy is providing efficient public transport like bullet trains worldwide. Due to the conveyance’s high speed and punctuation, people could use it as a replacement for private cars or motorcycles, which are needed for safe-travelling and time-saving.

To conclude, inflating petrol price is not an effective measure to alleviate the problems of growing traffic and contamination; hence, other methods should be adopted instead for long-term efficacy.