In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, modern lifestyles have led several health problems in our society. Obesity which is one of the most common cause of death has increased in many countries and is followed by the decline of health and fitness conditions. There is a major factor that might cause these problems; however, I personally believe that the government should take the main responsibility for tackling this issue.

Bad eating habits have the biggest contribution to this issue. One reason for this is that the booming fast food restaurants. It is undeniable that the fast food restaurants offer an alternative way for busy people with served quickly as well as affordable prices. Not only that, but also the fast food becomes a favourite food and even for many of us, it has replaced the basic daily meals. Mc donald in Indonesia; for example, providing many variants menu which are designed for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Consequently, people become overly dependent on fast food every day and it triggers a potential obesity. These conditions will be also followed by the decline level of health and fitness.

To tackle this problem, the government should take the responsibility to regulate food business. This can be attributed that the socialization is less effective in recent days; in contrast, there are uncontrolled growth of fast food restaurants in our surroundings. Research carried out by statistics center in Adelaide shows that three-fourths of people tend to choose fast food restaurants due to a few option of healthy food in their office areas; besides, the rest of people do not have enough time as another reason. This research makes it clear that the government should take some steps to control food business such as imposing tax to unhealthy restaurants and making strict rules for new restaurants in order that helping people to avoid unhealthy foods.

In a word, the worst eating habits have become a serious health problem in this modern era. From my perspective, the policy of food business is a possible solution for dealing with this issue.