In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight.

How far do you agree with either of these views?

The age of commencement of formal education for children is a challenging issue among people. While some believe that children are better to start their schools at four years old, other agree about the age of seven or eight for this goal.

On one hand, attending school earlier allows children t improve their mind in a convenient way. It is accepted that children’s brain is shaping during the earlier ages; as a result, they could develop their abilities and knowledge sooner. However, they could be tired and repelled of studying later due to being exposed to school environment and books. Besides, they are in the age of learning by playing, not learning by formal studying which could be hard situation for them.

On the other hand, some other people believe that the best age for children to join to school is seven or eight. After developing their cognitive skills and growing up to some degree, children are ready to study formally. In other words, they are ready both mentally and physically for handling themselves to somewhat. Additionally, before these ages, they have enough time to garner experience about school atmosphere by going to pre-schools.

In my opinion, the age of attending formal school varies from a child to another. Some children are mentally ready for studying books seriously, whereas others feel it as a burdened duty on their shoulders.

All in all, I agree with sending children later to schools than earlier, although if parents could discover the capability of their children for understanding and performing studies; sending them to schools earlier is better choice.