In some countries owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people Why might this be the case Do you think it is a positive or negative situation

Having an owned house instead of a rent one is of great importance for people in some countries. In my opinion, this is a negative situation that may bring up some social problems.

There are serval reasons for this situation. First, the price of the house is not too expensive in some countries, especially developing ones. People who have rented their houses for a long time may find out that they have paid much the same amount of money to buy one. Hence, buying a house instead of renting one is more economical for them. Another reason is that owning a home in some nations has additional benefits while renting one can not possess. For example, in China, having a home near prestigious schools allows the owner's children to attend these schools, which is an invaluable advantage. Finally, it makes people feel a sense of safety and belonging to have their own houses. They need not worry about the rent and can do almost whatever they want with their home, like decorating and renovating.

However, this situation is not positive due to the social problems it may cause. While the price of the house may be low in some nations, people still need to pay a considerable amount of money to own one. This reduces people's disposable income, which can be spent on clothes, food, and other things they want. Moreover, the additional benefit bond to a house increases the inequality between the rich and the poor.

To summarize, while people in some countries prefer owning a home rather than renting one due to some benefits, I consider this situation negative as it brings more economic and social problems.