Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

It is true that mastering a foreign language has become increasingly important in modern society as globalization is a trend in the world. Some specialists argue that it is more beneficial for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school than secondary school. In my opinion, the advantages of this suggestion outweigh its disadvantages.

To begin with, there are several benefits brought by learning a foreign language at primary school. First, people are easier to accept new knowledge and concept, including a foreign language, when they are young. It is less difficult for children to get used to different aspects of a foreign language such as grammar. As a result, the earlier students learn a foreign language, the less likely they will be restricted by their mother tongue. Another merit is that children have a longer time for studying a foreign language if they do it at primary school instead of secondary school. The time of practicing is crucial to mastering a language, so it is better to begin learning at an early time. Experts in China have proved that introducing English classes at primary schools leads to better test scores and academic results. Accordingly, the Chinese government made the English language a compulsory class at primary school in more than 15 years ago.

Admittedly, some problems may be caused by this action. The most criticized one is that learning a foreign language at primary school will significantly increase the burden on children. Having extracurricular activities is also essential for both the physical and mental health of students, while an extra foreign language class will definitely cost more time and reduce these activities. As a result, students may even become less efficient in their studies. Moreover, it is also a heavy burden, both financially and culturally, to some local primary schools to hire specialized teachers, who are necessary for teaching foreign a language.

In conclusion, although learning a foreign language at primary school than secondary school may increase the burden on students and schools, I believe that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages in the long run.