In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

A plethora of individuals in several countries advocates the significance of possessing accommodation of their own instead of being a tenant. The driving factor behind this tendency is our search for a sense of belonging. And in my opinion, this situation varies from person to person.

At first, being in possession of a home of their own is the ultimate dream of many people in almost every country. At the same time, a house is a place that makes us feel safe and it is also a great asset. For example, in my country, middle-class or working-class people toil for their entire life just to save up enough money to buy an abode for themselves, since it will provide them with a sense of security. Along with that, they also view this as a potential investment for their future. Hence, in my opinion, individuals who do so have these as reasons behind their decision and I do not think that there is anything wrong with it.

Conversely, there are quite a number of citizens who prefer renting an apartment or a house rather than purchasing one simply because it is an extremely expensive investment for them. Furthermore, it is really inconvenient moving to other places for most of the people. To illustrate, in our country, a government service holder has to get transferred to many cities owing to his job and it is not possible to own a dwelling in every town he is transferred to. Consequently, the most viable option for him is to become a tenant. Therefore, for several people it is better to rent than to own a home.

To conclude, I would say that whenever someone buys or rents a house, that person is driven by the motivation behind him and this motivation is different for every individual. Therefore, some choose to have their own abode, while others rent it. Although it is expensive, I, however, prefer to have my own sweet little home.