Some people argue whether criminals must be always subject to fixed punishment for certain crimes, or whether situations for committing the crime should be taken into account before inflicting punishment. This essay will examine both positives and negatives of the argument with an example of Saudi Arabia’s legal structure and its resulting aftermath.

Firstly, fixed punishments like the death penalty, life imprisonment for drug trafficking deter an offender from such heinous crimes. In explanation, criminals are scared enough to commit any major crimes due to that fact that they will inevitably and immediately have to confront punishment. For instance, according to a publication on criminal justice from the C.I.A, Saudi Arabia has consistently ranked top regarding achieving a low-crime index due to its aggressive law for enforcing fixed punishments for designated crimes.

Secondly, a preset penalty being regardless to the motivation for a particular type of offense that a perpetrator commits literally helps reduce the period of time to produce a verdict. To explain, unlike traditional tribunal procedures which looks into the motive of a criminal activity that takes place, fixed penalty method solely focuses on the type of crime overlooking its reason or circumstances. As a result, a plaintiff might receive justice in the shortest possible time. As an illustration, in many countries in Middle East including Pakistan, an offender who is involved in any rape or murder case will immediately receive death sentence as soon as he/she is detained by the law enforcers.

In conclusion, it is evidently clear that a fixed penalty system is the best system to manage legal process and therefore should be adopted by the government’s legislative branch.