Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has many advantages including augmenting knowledge about diverse cultures, having better job prospects, fostering better cognitive development, developing effective communication skills and so on. While some people believe that the only reason we should learn a foreign language is to visit or work in a foreign country, many others opine that the benefits of learning a different language are not limited to the job and travel prospects only. This essay delves into both points of view. My opinion is that learning a foreign language goes beyond travel, migration or job prospects.

On the one hand, it is quite natural that people want to learn a foreign language only to be able to communicate with people who speak this language. Thus a large number of people learn foreign languages like English, French, German, Spanish, Russian and Arabic to travel, migrate or find jobs in countries where people use these languages. From this regard, it seems quite logical that visiting a country or working there is the main reason people learn a second language. In my country, for example, most people learn English and Spanish while almost none learn Russian. Migration and job prospects are the reason that has established this trend, I believe.

On the contrary, research indicates that cognitive development happens faster among children who learn a second language than those who do not. Furthermore, learning a second language is mandatory in an academic syllabus and this helps us understand diverse cultural and traditional aspects. People who know more languages are capable of reading more books, and understanding the lifestyle of different nationalities. Again, learning a foreign language helps us make new friends. Thus it is evident that learning a foreign language has many other benefits as well.

In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that people primarily learn a foreign language to travel to or work in a developed country. But it is quite evident that there are far many advantages of learning a foreign language than to work or migrate to a country.