In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People in many countries believe that it is a significant decision to buy private accommodation rather than renting one. There are plenty of reasons that lead to this case but respectability stands out the most among the others. In my opinion, I am on the same side with those who argue that having your own house is a positive situation.

Initially, we cannot deny that we all command respect of people around us. According to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, esteem needs which is one of the highest needs of human assumes that people want to be acknowledged from others that they are valuable and dignified. In other words, by working hard in their life to achieve the goods and properties, people can demonstrate their potential, enhance their socio-economic status and others will look up to them. For example, in some Asian countries, the ownership of a house is a widely measurement of success; thus, youngster in these countries consider this to be an important goals to accomplish.

We have every reason to believe that owning a residence is a positive trend nowadays. Firstly, you can do whatever you want to do in your own home without your landlord’s permission because you are the only owner to that property. Thus, you have the right to repair, to decorate every corner of your home at anytime and no longer worried about a little scratch on the wall or a broken window, for example. Secondly, this also means that you do not need to worry about payment in every months, the increasing rent expense or in case the landlord would suddenly cancel the renting contract and take back the house.

In conclusion, there are several of reason for this situation, but if I have to choose between owning a home and renting one, I will pick the first option as owning one would make me feel more confident and successful in my life.