In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some traditions, parents usually stimulate their offspring to put in a great deal of effort in order to accomplish their desirable goal. Though we can reap plenty of benefits from this way of educating children, there are still some specific drawbacks that should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, we may mention undeniable fact that this valueable advice has been a strong motivation for adolescents to get a high result in whatever they do. At high school, being aware of trying hard in learning will help students get high score and perfect academic performance. Thanks to these encouragement, students can avoid procrastinating their homework or exercises which are important factors to enhance their knowledge as well as practical experience. Moreover, when students graduate from school and begin to join in labour market, keep working hard and persuing the targets will greatly boost their effiency and productivity.

On the other hand, besides the benefits above, there are still some drawbacks that cannot be neglected. When all the efforts of children are doomed to failure, they will easily become desparate about their future and cannot think precisely of how to confront the problems. This may be considered as dangerous situation as youngster who are not matured enough can have wrong behaviors and do something harmful to themselves even commiting suicide. For examples, in many Asian coutries, children are being put under pressure of parents’ expectation of attending university, thereby leading to the fact that they are almost looked like being lost everthing if they fail.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, we can see that merits coexist with demerits of telling children to try hard to achieve what they want in life, although I firmly belive that it is still a positive trend.