In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Many people think that young people should find a job or travel to other places to gain experiences, which is very useful for their future. However, beside advantages, this decision also bring disadvantages for young people.

Beginning with the positive points, young people who have spent some time on earning money or travelling to some places will have a overall view. They have learnt something teachers cannot teach them in the school, thus they have the ability to deal with complicated problems and to consider carefully before making a decision. They have learned how to keep calm in some bad situations and become more harmonious with the relationships. In addition, when they experience many both pleasant and difficult situations, they tend to be more confident, which is an important factor in academic study and work. Therefore, they can obtain many achievements in the future.

On the other hand, young people who are cheated easily because they are interested in many things and want to be known. They might believe strangers, hence they are exploited to work. Moreover, one of them cannot distinguish clearly between bad and good things. As a result, they are influenced and have negative behaviour, which maybe the cause of social evils. Furthermore, instead of working, they can learn another language to improve themselves.

In conclusion, there are many benefits in that encourage young people to work or travel. However, they should consider drawbacks to have an appropriate decision.