In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Over recent years, the trend of having a gap year before enrolling in universities has become popular within youngsters. This trend has plethora of benefits and drawbacks. This essay discusses both deeply.

Firstly, working in distinct fields for a time period results in gain in knowledge and an opportunity to find area of ones interest for choosing a course for further studies. Secondly, travelling has some advantages also such as a person can explore many areas of his/her nation and develop a good friend circle of different backgrounds, fields and locations which is of course beneficial for a youngster in his/her work life.

However, as every coin has two sides, it has some disadvantages also. Firstly, a gap year has a profound impact on a student's study. A candidate might find it difficult to continue study after a long time. Moreover, a student could change his goal completely, if he starts earning at early age which could distract him to continue at study and remain working at job.

To recapitulate, a gap year has both pros and cons. It results in increase in knowledge and other positive outcomes when youngsters plan this time period carefully, but it can disturb their's study also.