In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies.

Nowadays, the young people recommended to taking a gap year between finishing high school and starting study in university. In this essay, I completely agree that it gives more advantage rather than disadvantage.

On the one hand, the main advantage taking a gap before starting study in university caused it an opportunity to personal experience and gain new skill, improve employability and explore personal enthusiasm; as a result, a gap year will help them to develop personally and intellectually and gain a deeper understanding about the world. There are many typical types a gap year. For example, working gap year, spending a year to working be useful to gain skill, get new experiences, and start to build up a good relation.

On the other hand, there is a disadvantage of break a year before going to university. Taking a gap will be a year behind everyone who graduated secondary school with them. Other than that, some institutions do not look positive for year students, particularly if they did not incorporate enough constructive activities into their year off. For example, some scholarships do not allow students with the decision of taking a break year. Then, the disadvantage of taking a gap year need to be weighed up against the advantages.

To sum up, this essay weighed that taking a gap year to work or travel between finishing high school and starting study in university get beneficial for the young people. On the other hand, it can delay academic progress for a year. From where I stand, I believe giving a gap between finishing high school and starting study in university give more advantages than disadvantages.