Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The importance of international language which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. However, learning foreign language in the primary school appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate both merits and demerits of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

There are myriad of reasons which will further explain this argument, nonetheless, the most preponderant one stems from the fact that by grasping overseas tongue in elementary school, children can attain higher level of proficiency, in turn, which will quite beneficial in their education. To epitome, they are growing up and they are eager to learn more exciting things, so it is the high time to learn multiple languages. Consequently, multilingual person is smarter than the monolingual individual. Another pivotal aspect of this trend this it enhance their cognitive skills, therefore, they will get better opportunities to pursue international studies as well as can able to do language translation job in tourism field. Needless to say, all these merits stand in a good stead.

However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend but one of the most alarming one is sometimes students get confused with native speech and non-native dialects. As a result, it is difficult for them to attain fluency in their mother tongue. Another demerit of adding new lingo in primary schools is it puts additional burden on youngsters in their studies and they might lost their focus on studies which results in poor academic performance. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend.

According to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach to a conclusion that the benefits of studying non-native lingo in high school are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, the potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.