Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend of adding a foreign language in school syllabus has certainly increased since past few years over the world. Some experts opine that learning a foreign language in primary school is more beneficial than in a secondary school. I believe that acquiring knowledge of a new language has more disadvantages.

Firstly, children are more enthusiastic about learning new things and are always open to new ideas. The grasping power is also excellent at younger age due to which the pupil tends to learn more quicker than an adult. Also, students of international school who learn new languages in early stages have upper hand over the local school Student while securing admissions for higher studies as the institute might consider students who can speak or write the preferred language.

However, studying a new language at primary level could increase workload on individual. They might have to attend extra classes and this would add some more assignments to their regular ones which may become hectic for them. Considering the fact that in international schools each subject is taught by different teachers, the schools in native areas won't be able to provide such facilities to students. One teacher covers all subjects, so they are not well trained and even the language competency is uncertain. In addition, it is stressful for child be bilingual. Such children have difficulty in deciding which language to speak, either foreign language or mother tongue, and may end up learning nothing.

In conclusion, it is clear that learning a new language as early as possible has merits, but a wrong approach of teachers and parents will produce more counterproductive impacts.