Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many educators argue that children should study a foreign language before entering middle school. I agree with them, in that it is more important to focus on stimulating children in foreign languages as early as possible, but I also think just that is not enough.

It is said that the minds of children work like a sponge – they absorb most of the things they are taught easily. So, following this idea, the earlier a child faces a new language, the more he\she should remember. However, besides that, I have the strong belief that children who get a good first impression with a language will be more motivated in their studies. Consistency and motivation are the qualities that make studying a new language effective. Moreover, students should be told about other cultures and be encouraged to experience those cultures, maybe even going abroad on exchange later on.

Unfortunately, language leaning is not only a matter of time. In Japan, for example, where English is taught since kindergarten, teachers are under the misapprehension that “earlier” equals to “better results”. However, the reality is the opposite. Because they are forced to learn it from an early age, most of the students dislike English and reject it from childhood. I suppose the root of the problem might be found in their primary school’s studies where they were first introduced to it.

To conclude, unless a radical change will be made in teaching methods, the majority of children will not make any improvements. Even so, it is also crucial to start studying foreign languages since primary school, giving children more time to become more familiar with the language and motivating them to keep studying.