Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In today's modern world, advertising has a dominant role in marketing. However, many of the strategies used to sell products or services are considered by a big part of the population, as unethical and unacceptable. Personally, I strongly agree with this statement and this essay will discuss several points supporting my opinion.

To begin, the primary role of advertising is to introduce products and the benefits of having them. Although, every company's organization's goal is financial profit. In order to increase their sales, several times manipulate emotionally their consumers. For example, during weekends when children are not in schools, there is an increased rate of advertisements regarding toys, so most of the children could see them and try to convince their parents to buy these products for them. This is totally unethical.

To continue, several advertisements attack the personality of several groups and especially the female sex. To explain that, in the vast majority of advertisements regarding male products, there is an image of a woman, which indicates that if a man buys this product, attractive women will follow him. This is sexist and unacceptable.

To conclude, despite the fact that advertising is just the way to inform the audience about new products, now apparently focuses on different things. That is why the government should introduce new laws and stop this phenomenon.