Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work, so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do You stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

Several experts claim that it is appropriate for policemen recruiting to engage them from the citizens of the city where they will work, whereas others reckon that it is unacceptable. This essay will examine the question and provide evidences against the support of the statement.

First of all, it is true that local people are more aware OF geography and manners of the city, which is applicable in seeking FOR and prosecution of the criminals. Secondly, they could have some weight/BURDEN among dwellers due to their previous work or life and consequently influence on the habitats in a right way. Moreover, there is no extra-funding of relocation and living for employees and their family for the government to hire citizens.

On the other hand, in modern digital world fewer and fewer crimes are committed on the streets. Contemporary offenders are hackers and frauders, who do identity theft and hack security system of the business corporations and banks. Hence, it seems that the local knowledge are not sufficient for the investigators. Furthermore, the examples of the different countries around the world, either developed or developing, demonstrate the corruption in the government and it is likely to say that background relationships of the officers may lead to the deterioration of the situation and bribery. Finally, despite of the SHEER expenses of recruitinG people from other places, they might possess actual and excellent skills for this kind of labor, resulting in decrease of the crime rate and training other local workers for their superior performance in THE future.

It is logical to conclude that even though choosing candidates for the police from the citizens have a number of advantages, there are some considerable featureS, which should not be boundED to the local-oriented approach.