Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly Others value quality of work above appearance Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often argued that proper outfits play a crucial role in the working place, while others disagree and believe that the quality of staff’s performance should be in priority. This essay will examine both points of view and will state that formal clothes are essential in the business world such it projects a good image of companies and creates the professional appearance of employees.

It is clear that formal clothes convey an image of responsibility and trustworthiness of a company. This is because, dark shades of colours in dressing are believed to be a straightforward way to maintain these strengths as intelligence, reliability and conscientiousness. It would mean that clients may seem to think that a person in a dark bluish suite has these qualities, rather than a person in frumpy bright outfits. In addition, having unique companies’ image is vital for creation close-neat team as it fosters solidarity between staff and promotes equality between colleagues. That is to say, it makes them feel part of a team and gives them a sense of belonging to a company.

However, some opponents are of the opinion that employers should prioritize the standard of their staff’s efficiency. No matter what employees are wearing, if they tend to meet deadlines and contribute to the development and flourish of a company. It could be best exemplified by IT specialists who work remotely. Hardly may their smart style outfits positively impact their productivity when their clothes are uncomfortable. Hence, it appears to may deteriorate their efficiency and decrease their confidence. Therefore, some companies with strict dress-code policies encourage casual-style on Fridays.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about whether should dress wisely or quality of work should be ahead of appearance. Personally, from my point of view, the appropriate dressing can establish valuable characteristics which engage customers and forge a close bond between staff.