Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both views with your opinion.

An individual’s outer appearance in terms of clothing is both important in his personal as well professional life. Presently, some people assert that formal and attractive attire has a great significance at the workplace. By contrast others believe that quality of work carries a greater value than appearance. Here I would like to account for both views with my own perception.

There are manifold points to support the former view. First and foremost, by requiring the workforce to dress smartly will give a professional impression. To justify, the clothing sense of any company directly reflects that the company takes their working standards seriously. Moreover, this will also enhance the qualitative work culture along with the positive attitudes among the workers. As a consequence, workforce is expected to be more confident and would have better working efficiency. What is more, wearing a formal or designer dress and to be good looking are the general requirements in various corporate houses where customers are in direct contact with the staff members. Hence, the worthiness of the wearing smart uniforms at work cannot be ignored.

On the flip side, numerous points can be mentioned to shore up the latter view. Initially, quality of work is considered to be the most prominent factor to boost the productivity of an organization. For example, hiring technically advanced and skillful professionals is a sure criterion for a company to achieve their success goals rather than laying unnecessary stress on their wardrobes. Moving further, it has been seen that multinational corporations such as Google and Microsoft give ample priority to working methods and skills as compared to outward appearance. Likewise Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook is well known to wear same styled casual tee and jeans in lieu of saving his precious time which may get wasted while choosing different and fancy clothes for work every day.

From my notion both aspects have their own significance. Undeniably, dressing sense may have a huge impact on the overall personality of an individual. However, I personally believe that in case of working sector, quality of work cannot be ignored at any cost as the performance of both the company as well as its employees is completely dependent on how the company functions.

To recapitulate, it can be stated that the attractive wardrobes at work may be lucrative but concerning more on qualitative working will surely encourage the professionalism at workplaces.