Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In these days, more and more people are attending universities to secure a good job, while others are of an opinion that university is not only meant for education but also moulds the students for further benefit to the society. I agree with the latter notion and will discuss both sides of the argument.

Firstly, the universities are set up with the main aim of providing a secure job. The majority of people want to improve their future career prospects and attending universities is the best way as it helps in improving skills and gives expertise to the candidates on how to tackle a situation effectively. Education in universities is often expensive and most of the people would not prefer to attend if it does not provide them with a solution regarding the future.

Some people believe that university education is often beneficial to individuals as well as society. Firstly, the students leave their home and stay either in a dormitory or in a rented house for education which helps them in developing social skills. They also meet new friends which, in turn, boosts their confidence and their maturity. Secondly, society will gain from the contribution the graduates make to the economy. Moreover, we are living in a competitive world, so countries need educated people in order to prosper.

To conclude, I believe that the main purpose of the university is not only providing jobs but also to promote individuals for the betterment of society. If we continue to promote university education, it will lead to a better future for individuals as well as society.