Some people believe that all wild animals should be protected.

Others say that few wild animals should be protected instead.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Wild animals, which are on the verge of extinction, are preserved in zoos and also protected by enforcing strict laws. Although this protection for rare species are supported by few people, there are others along with me who believe that not only endangered species but also all wild animals must be preserved. In this essay, I shall carefully assess both the standpoints and justify my viewpoint.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is difficult and should preserve only selective animals. One reason is that maintaining animals in zoos in order to save them from extinction is expensive. For instance, Vandalur zoo, one of the famous zoos in Chennai, spends about 10 lakh rupees a day to feed all the animals which they are protecting. Consider if they have to preserve all the wild animals, this budget would escalate to the point where it could affect the human needs. Another reason is that preserving all wild animals would mean that people should not hunt few common animals for even food. This would make imbalance in food-chain

On the other hand, all animals should be treated alike and should be preserved. In fact, they should be left in their natural habitat instead of rising them in zoos. At the moment, 30 % of forest area have been occupied by human kind which is otherwise a habitat for wild animals. This is one of the most reasons why certain animals are on the verge of extinction. However, if immediate actions are not taken to preserve all wild animals, we would have more and more species tagged as endangered in future.

To conclude, all wild animals are facing threat from human beings. Saving particular species alone from extinction would not help to keep our eco-system balanced. As a human, we should take responsibility for saving all wild animals by imposing some laws